Because of its location — on the Orange & Alexandria Railroad and adjacent to the village depot — the house was used extensively by both Union and Confederate armies. After the great cavalry battle at Brandy Station on June 9, 1863, the house served as a Confederate hospital. Later, Federal troops occupied the building when the Army of the Potomac camped in Culpeper during the winter of 1863-64. The plaster walls on the second floor of the house are covered with an outstanding and unique collection of charcoal graffiti left by soldiers from both armies. In addition to their autographs, the soldiers drew elaborate pictures of men and women, and wrote inscriptions commemorating their units and their battles. After the war, the graffiti was papered over and forgotten until it was discovered during a renovation in 1993. The Brandy Station Foundation purchased the house in 2002. In addition to the graffiti, the house includes a small museum and serves as a visitor center for the Brandy Station battlefield.